How it all started…

If someone told me that the car I’m driving now (my very first eBay purchase btw) had to last me for life, I’d treat it very differently to how I do now. I’d give it the best petrol, the best oil…I’d be the perfect driver. Because I’d want it to last for as long as possible.

But this body is the only one I’m ever going to get, yet I don’t always give it the best fuel or look after it properly. In fact, crackling is my favourite food in the world! Don’t get me wrong, I generally have a good diet, but the bad things just taste so good! And I can be pretty weak! But I’ve had too many bouts of illness lately that I want to do everything possible to avoid them. So, 2016 is the year to get clean! I’m going to clean up my diet, my habits…generally, my life! And I’m hoping that blogging about it will help me stick to what I say I’ll do. I’m also hoping that it will give you food for thought too (excuse the pun!).

I gave up alcohol five months ago after a friend’s wedding. I won’t bore you with the details of exactly how I ended up taking wedding cake to bed with me, but suffice to say I didn’t feel the best the following day and missed out on spending time with great people because of it. I don’t want to miss out on life any more. I’m loving not drinking too. It saves money, you can feel fresh the next day after a night out, and you’re far less likely to make a fool of yourself, or go to bed with things you shouldn’t be going to bed with (I’m talking about the wedding cake)!

Credentials are important, right? Well, I have none! I’ll be learning as I go. Ok, just so I sound a bit better, I do have a First Class degree in Biology, but I’m not a nutritionist, and I’m a pretty poor cook tbh. But hopefully not for long!

I also need to put out a warning – the blog is called higgledy for a reason. I might get a bit random. But I’m happy with it 🙂 Yes, I’m starting the blog because I want a healthier lifestyle, but if something else pops into my head then it’s likely to sprawl over these pages too.

One last thing – please be nice. I won’t always get things right (and it’s fine to tell me when I don’t), but I’ll try. Writing a blog is a pretty daunting task. Depending on what I put up there’s a chance that you guys will know more about my life than I do.

Enjoy, and thank you.

Leave a Reply

