#1WeekWithout – crisps (eating healthy snacks)

I picked the worst week ever to give up crisps – two trips to London when it’s so handy to just carry a bag of crisps around for a quick snack. Instead, I had much healthier rice cakes, and when I was at home discovered some surprisingly tasty alternatives.

Spinach and parmesan

I found a recipe for baked kale and parmesan crisps. Being without kale, I thought I’d give it a go with spinach and dried goats cheese. I loved it! I spread spinach on a baking tray and sprinkled over the cheese, then put it in the oven for 5-10 minutes. It didn’t crisp up, unfortunately, but it tasted as good as crisps but was much healthier! I’d definitely recommend trying it!

Home-made crisps

Making just about anything from scratch is going to be healthier than buying it ready-prepared. I did it the long way – slicing potato, boiling it for a few minutes, putting a single layer onto a baking tray with oil and paprika, and putting in the oven. However, I’ve since discovered a much easier microwave recipe (http://allrecipes.co.uk/recipe/6586/homemade-crisps.aspx): slice the potatoes, cover in oil and layer on a microwavable plate. Voila!

Flapjacks

I’ve discovered a new love for flapjacks! I can’t get enough of them. And they’re so simple to make! All I do is melt some butter and honey in a pan and add oats and olive oil. I then add chopped dates or banana and a small handful of 85% cocoa chocolate to give each bit an extra treat. Stick it in the oven for about 20 minutes. One warning: if you take these on a packed lunch, the hands will quickly fly in when you get them out and you’ll be left with only crumbs!

How to resist

I find that if I buy crisps, I can’t resist them, so the best thing for me is to keep them away from my shopping trolley. But even if you swap one packet of crisps a week for a healthy alternative, you’ll be on your way to a healthier you. Why not give it a go?

Leave a Reply

